Project Evaluation:

My Project – Description:

I was tasked with creating a 2D plat-former pixel game using the program Game-maker. We as a group chose one random place in time in our case was the 1960’s and one well known historical figure , ours turned out to be Nikola Tesla. It had to be 256 x 256 and it had to utilize assets that we had made ourselves. with the help of audacity for the audio/game/level music, bfxr for individual sounds, Photoshop for bigger image edits and the in application sprite editor.

Pre-Production, Production and Post production techniques:

Pre-Production

All of the pre production processes I partook in were either research for the historical era or of Nikola Tesla’s one of three facial poses that I could see. The items in questions I researched for the historical era (1960’s) were older buildings of flats, certain stores (Topps etc) and houses/bungalows using this information I was able to plan ahead and decide what my backgrounds, platforms and items in game would look like. I had help with my research as I used some of my group members information about Nikola Tesla making a “death ray” as such he had found that he called it “Teleforce” and that there was no actual blueprints. Research we did in order to find the perfect villain was to research other dictators or people of that caliber, of whom were at the time. Fidel Castro was our first thought, but we came up with others just encase we needed a contingency plan. Kim Jong-il also “fit the bill quite nicely” as the saying goes. This was due to him being the Democratic People’s Republic of Korea (DPRK), also commonly referred to as North Korea and so it would be, befitting of him to want to own the “Death ray”.

The story/concept of my game would be that Nikola Tesla made these death ray blueprints when he was alive originally and he distributed his pieces of the blueprint to all the current world powers at the time in order to try and get them to combine their efforts and actions towards making a better world for all humans. Now hes returned in the 1960’s as there is a threat of Fidel Castro (The games main enemy) using those blueprints to make the “Teleforce” death ray. Nikola Tesla’s objective is to collect all the blueprints segments to stop Castro from destroying the world potentially.

Production

Production was by far the must frustrating thing about this project. Game-makers buggy-ness made it so everyone constantly had things to do whether it was fixing bugs within the game or making more assets. Production for me first started when I took to photoshop to to create my  backgrounds, they had to be 256 x 256 pixels as that was what the size of our rooms would be. I had an issue when making the first background which by far took the longest to make, I researched different buildings during our time of pre-production this led me to have a focused design scheme in my mind when making these backgrounds. Some of the buildings and houses didn’t match up to meet where I wanted to make them meet, so to combat this I merely used 1 point perspective within the middle of the street and added a road that faded  off into the distance.aside from that I wanted to some aspect of realism; the size portion so I was very specific about the dimensions of the buildings and where they were within the 256 x 256 document this was because I had planned to add an older looking movie theater which took quite a lot of time and effort to make.

After the first one was completed I merely took that same file back into photoshop and deleted the insides of the buildings/features (windows, doors and specific features such as the theater signs) and then I begun my work of recreating a different street/area that would be used. my second design held a museum within it. I had to create depth within to show that you had to walk up to the door rather than it being directly at the top of the stairs. I found myself at the same scenario when it came to making multiple sprites within the game, all I had to do was copy over the sprite then just edit what needed to be altered.

The game itself took a while to make as we had to do some seminar type talks when our tutor was showing us how to do everything, we took notes based on those demonstrations and worked on. Gamer makers software itself, was fairly difficult to work with at first due to all the bugs that came with the

Post-Production

My post production experience of my game, consisted of a few things such as some promotional items such as posters of our designated historical figure, we made these posters in the theme of Top Trumps which featured some writing about them perhaps some stats etc. We also QA tested our games by getting our classmates to play and review our games and give us feedback based on their experience which we can use to improve our games if we wanted to in our own time or perhaps if we were given time within the future.

Goals and expectations:

My goals for this task was to have a functional game although my expectations weren’t high for this project (although I had faith it would turn out great) I wanted a working game that people could play, grab the objects required, finish the game and most importantly enjoy it. Game-maker made it fairly difficult for us as we couldn’t use this program to its fullest so there was bugs, a whole lot them. I did not let that stop me and plowed through it to try and meet my goal.

Why is my game unique?

My game is unique because it places our hero Nikola Tesla into a place he is massively unfamiliar with, the 1960’s. He has to fight otherwise people he would never even dream of having contact with, in this case it’s 1960’s people and Fidel Castro

My target audience?

My would be playable to all, however my most profitable target medium I would assume to be the older generations due to the nostalgia of playing an older looking game. The older generation would also be more profitable because of the industries technological advancements which has made it so that 3D is a given in games and its all about improving the look of everything.

Does the finished product promote and present your idea to the target audience?

I think my Idea with the help of my unique backgrounds presented the game very well to the point that I think those who played it would get the idea I am presenting. However there are some flaws with my design and tile sets, these include my tile set blending in to the background so its fairly difficult at first until you ca fully see what my tile sets are. Other than that I feel as though my game conveys what I’m trying to portray.

Why should people consume my product?

People should consume my product so that they can get a taste of what a decent 2D plat-former game that is based in the 1960’s can be. They would be able to judge the game themselves as there is more than meets the eye to this one.

What is the message of my product?

My message that I tried to convey with my particular product was that not all old looking items, objects and products are boring and that you can still have something looking good and playing well when it’s out of its timezone.

How did my creative decisions help communicate my message?

My creative decisions Helped communicate my Idea by what I had decided to make and use for my tile sets, which were kinda hard to see so the audience would have to look and think more deeply than the surface. blending in to the background is really what I was going for as then people couldn’t just pick the game up (Start playing the game) and win it.

QA Testing with peers

Once our game had been made it was time to see if it was any good, which turned out pretty well I thought. Below are is the feedback I had been given for my game as my peers played it and wrote down their opinions on it and what went wrong/what went well.

Josh

Carney-boeje

The game feels smooth however some of the movements are quite fast or laggy. The game has great aesthetics like the building in the background, also I like the layout of the platforms . 7 Good- the layout and visuals of the game are great.

 

Bad- the movement is to fast e.g. the left and right movement

Nikola tesla

And the 1960s

Luke boeje The game functions well however sometimes I teleport randomly but I know that thanks just a glitch and not your fault. The game looks great and nice to look at but the only thing is it’s a bit hard to spot the platforms at first. 6 Good-the layout is nice and makes sense.

 

Bad- the character runs a little fast so maybe just slow it down a tiny bit

Nikola tesla

1960s

Lars Johnson The game functions well performance wise however it’s impossible to play due to teleporting whenever I attack or touch another object. The goal didn’t work either. Visually the game is top notch, the goal of the 1st level was a little unclear that it was the goal at first. 8 Good- The visuals as I said are top notch.

 

Bad- The game is impossible to play due to the amount of bugs it has.

Nikola tesla and the 1960’s, really clear.
Beth Williams The movement is a little speedy and the character often teleports around the screen. The restart key seems to not work on the win screen, and the projectile seems a little glitchy. There is a strong sense of art direction, however this is failed by the hard to distinguish platforms. Unrelated to visuals but the music choice was good. 6 Good- Linear level layout removes confusion of direction

 

Bad- Very tricky to play

 

1960’s, Nikola Tesla
Charlie Darbon The movement is far too quick and difficult to control the character. The character teleports more often than he walks and I even managed to duplicate him. The collision doesn’t work in that whenever I try to pick up the blue prints or enter the portal (which is small and difficult to see) it only sometimes works and more often flings me up into the air. On one occasion I fell through the floor. It’s difficult to distinguish where anything is. Everything blends together into a grey puddle as if a child tried to mix too many paints together. The platform placement was fairly unimaginative. Although the music choice was good. 5 Good – The background was very well crafted it’s just a shame that the sprites of the platforms blended into it too much.

Bad – Just glitch that’s all. Also make your character slower.

1960’s, Nikola Tesla – very clearly
SAM The games collision was rather buggy throughout and obtaining objectives responses was difficult The games minimalist style worked very well with the theme and musical style 8.01 The style, visuals and audio was very good, though the gameplay was a little too simple and easy Tesla in the 60’s with ronal Mc Donald roaming ❤
Marcus Buggy and couldn’t get objectives without glitching The style was good but platforms got mushed in the background 4 Simple gameplay that couldn’t develop with the short time of gameplay Some guy in a London council estate  😉
